

SPRING CONFERENCE AND AWARDS CEREMONY



MARCH 11, 2024



MONDAY, MARCH 11, 2024

SCHEDULE

- 8:45 A.M. CHECK-IN (CLOWES MEMORIAL HALL)
- 9:15 A.M. WELCOME

ADAM SCHENKEL, PRESIDENT, IASB DAVE ARLAND, PRESIDENT, IBA JIM RAGSDALE, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, SBA

- **9:30 A.M.** WORKSHOP SESSION 1 SEE PROGRAM FOR OFFERINGS AND LOCATIONS
- 10:30 A.M. WORKSHOP SESSION 2

SEE PROGRAM FOR OFFERINGS AND LOCATIONS

- **11:30 A.M.** LUNCH (CLOWES MEMORIAL HALL LOBBY)
- 12:30 P.M. AWARDS CEREMONY (CLOWES MEMORIAL HALL)

HOSTED BY SCOTT UECKER, ASSISTANT PROFESSOR EMERITUS, UNIVERSITY OF INDIANAPOLIS



WORKSHOPS

9:30-10:15AM WORKSHOP SESSION 1

JORDAN HALL

Room 141 (capacity of 200): "Lighting the Scene: Gaffing 101" - Dr. Lance Clark, Dean Huntington University & Brian Farrell, professional gaffer and cage manager at Huntington University

PHARMACY BUILDING

Room 150 (capacity of 135): "Showcasing Independent Films with Heartland Film" - Abi Lindstedt, Community Outreach & Education Manager, Heartland Film Festival

Room 156 (capacity of 135): Media Engineering Opportunities - Jim Ragsdale, Executive Director, SBE

Room 204 (capacity of 130): "Telling Great Stories on TV by Yourself" Rich Nye, WTHR-TV Reporter

GALLAHUE BUILDING

Room 104 (capacity of 112): "Script Writing and Artificial Intelligence" - Lincoln Reed, Professor Taylor University

CLOWES HALL

Indiana Broadcasters Association presents "Landing Your First Job in Broadcasting: Advice from Indiana Stations" - Dominic Mancuso, GM WXIN/WTTV, Brian Greene, Sales Mgr. WTTS, Darlene Park, GM Cumulus Radio, Al Carl, News Director, WISH-TV, Dave Arland, President/CEO IBA (moderator)

10:30-11:15AM WORKSHOP SESSION 2

JORDAN HALL

Room 141 (capacity of 200): "Drones and Media...some Thoughts" Zach Huffman, Co-owner Hyvion

PHARMACY BUILDING

Room 150 (capacity of 135): "Showcasing Independent Films with Heartland Film" - Abi Lindstedt, Community Outreach & Education Manager, Heartland Film Festival

Room 156 (capacity of 135): Media Engineering Opportunities - Jim Ragsdale, Executive Director, SBE

Room 204 (capacity of 130): "10 Tips for Being Successful Studying Film/Video in College" - Steve Bailey, Professor Taylor University

GALLAHUE BUILDING

Room 104 (capacity of 112): "Announcer Preparation for Broadcasting Live Sports" Scott Uecker, Football Announcer/Producer, Fox Sports 1260 WNDE-AM

CLOWES HALL

Indiana Broadcasters Association presents "Landing Your First Job in Broadcasting: Advice from Indiana Stations" - Dominic Mancuso, GM WXIN/WTTV, Brian Greene, Sales Mgr. WTTS, Darlene Park, GM Cumulus Radio, Al Carl, News Director, WISH-TV, Dave Arland, President/CEO IBA (moderator)



CLOWES HALL - CHECK-IN, WELCOME, LUNCH, AWARDS

WORKSHOPS - PHARMACY BLDG, GALLAHUE HALL, JORDAN HALL

HINKLE FIELDHOUSE - BUS PARKING LOT

THANK YOU TO THIS YEAR'S SPONSORS OF THE IASB SPRING CONFERENCE



Society of Broadcast Engineers







High School Students and Instructors:

Welcome to the annual Indiana Association of School Broadcasters Conference presented by Butler University. For more than 50 years, IASB has been supporting Indiana's educational broadcasters by promoting professional excellence and recognizing student achievement.

The IASB high school competition began in 1986. Since then, students have been recognized for their outstanding work at member schools and career centers. Many of those award winners have attended member colleges and universities before moving on to rewarding careers in their field of choice.

IASB possesses transformative potential for students aspiring to thrive in the broadcasting or media industries. Whether it's through conferences connecting individuals with industry professionals and college faculty or competitions fostering confidence and validation, IASB empowers individuals to pursue their passion, reaffirms their career choices, and inspires ongoing skill enhancement for future success.

The association's board of directors has developed today's conference program to provide you with a variety of informative and educational professional development sessions. It is our hope that you will not only learn today, but that some of you might find your passion and a career pathway.

This day is for you, so thank you for joining us as we learn together and celebrate the best in high school broadcasting in the state of Indiana.

Sincerely,

T. U. Scherkl

ADAM SCHENKEL President - Indiana Association of School Broadcasters Digital Media Director - Homestead High School

2023-24 - IASB HIGH SCHOOL MEMBERS

AK Smith Career Center Anthis Career Center Avon High School Ben Davis High School Bellmont High School Brownsburg High School Carmel High School Carroll High School Charlestown High School Chesterton High School Columbia City High School Columbus East High School Concordia Lutheran High School Connersville High School **Crown Point High School** Decatur Central High School East Chicago Central High School Elkhart Area Career Center Evansville Christian High School Fishers High School Floyd Central High School

Franklin Central High School Franklin Community High School Goshen High School Hammond Area Career Center Hobart High School Homestead High School Huntington North High School Impact Institute Indianapolis Cathedral J. Everett Light Career Center Jasper High School Jeffersonville High School Jennings County High School Kokomo Area Career Center Lafayette Jefferson High School Martinsville High School Merrillville High School Mishawaka High School Monrovia High School Mooresville High School New Albany High School

New Washington Middle-High School

North Montgomery Middle-High School

Pendleton Heights High School

Pike High School

Porter County Career Center

Prairie Heights High School

Richmond Area Career Center

Salem High School

South Bend Community School Corp.

South Spencer High School

Southern Indiana Career and Technical Center

Springs Valley High School

Walker Career Center

Wawasee High School

Western Boone Junior-Senior High School

Whiteland Community High School

Woodlan High School

2023-24 - IASB COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY MEMBERS

Ball State University	Indiana State University	Taylor University
Butler University	Indiana University	University of Indianapolis
DePauw University	Indiana University-East	University of Southern Indiana
Goshen College	Manchester University	Valparaiso University
Hanover College	Marian University	Vincennes University
Huntington University	Purdue University	

2024 IASB COMPETITION JUDGES

Thank you to the judges of this year's IASB High School and College Competitions

Lauren Arnold	Gabe Gonzalez	Alyssa Newton
Josh Ayen	Griff Gonzalez	Katrina Nickell
Steve Bailey	Allison Gormly	John Nolan
Missy Bentley	Kurt Gutgsell	Alex Null
Kevin Berlen	Kevin Hankins	Rich Nye
Tony Betton Jr	Brooke Hasch	Connor Onion
Heather Birks	Caleb Hatch	Thomas Peek
Dave Black	Allan Haw	Tim Pollard
Jared Boomer	Terry Heifetz	Jevin Redman
Jo-Beth Bootz	Rob Hendrix	Lincoln Reed
Tyler Bradfield	Heather Herron	Noah Reed
Bob Braunlich	Frank Hertel	Jeannette Rinard
Travis Breese	Kim Hood Jacobs	Adam Schenkel
Kathy Bruner	Ty Hunter	Gracie Sherrow
John Bruner	Dennis John Bailey	Holly Smith
Marresa Burke	Samantha Johnson	Riss Solis
Rob Calhoun	Bob Johnston	Kayla Sprayue
Dom Caristi	Adam Kashner	Cory Stace
Erica Cerva	Greg Kathary	Lindsay Stafford
Lance Clark	Conner Marcum	Connor Steffen
Tyson Conrady	Ray Masterson	Randy Stith
Tim Dench	Shay McAlister	Mick Tidrow
Andy Dunn	Camille McCreery	Mick Tidrow
Evan Elrod	Kenton McDonald	Scott Uecker
Jim Fechmeister	Victoria Meldrum	Jessica Walter
Tyler Foxx	Perry Metz	Brennen Walton
Noelle Friel	David Misiewicz	Josh Williams
Jordan Glaza	Joe Misiewicz	Maria Williams-Hawkins
Dalton Godbey	John Morris	McManus Wooden